Latest Update

National Women's Month Celebration

A Primer on LWUA and the Water Districts

A faucet in every home. A glass of clean and safe drinking water in every dining table. A population untouched by water-borne diseases. Visions struggled for by the Filipino people – both government and the governed — for our country’s provincial cities and communities.

But while early water supply development efforts expended by the government were genuine, these simply did not take off as expected. Earlier approaches were centralized, thus, responsiveness to local conditions or developments suffered.

Water District Categories and Credit Classification

Local water districts used to be classified into six (6) categories, namely: SMALL, AVERAGE, MEDIUM, BIG, LARGE, and VERY LARGE water districts. This was from 1997 to 2011. Classification was based on the Local Water District Manual on Categorization/Re-Categorization which provided a general framework in determining the Organizational Structure, Staffing Pattern and Position Classification for every category of water district.

What is Water District

A water district is a local corporate entity that operates and maintains a water supply system in one or more provincial cities or municipalities. It is established on a local option basis and, like LWUA, is classified as a government-owned and controlled corporation or GOCC. A WD is run by a five-man Board of Directors through a General Manager.

What types of loans are open to Water Districts?

LWUA offers four loan windows to water districts.